Maryland/District of Columbia Society for Respiratory Care

Respiratory Care Professionals Saving Lives Everyday.....

Respiratory Care is a dynamic and challenging profession and an integral part of the health care delivery team.

2021 Board of Directors- Officers


Fassil Getachew, MBA, RRT
Director Respiratory Care- Medstar Georgetown
Office 201-444-5268
term expires 12/2022

Past- President
Tom Striplin, Ed.D., RRT, RPFT
Dean of Arts & Science
Allegany College of Maryland
office- 301-784-5273
term expires 12/2021

Charlie Martin, MSSL, RRT-ACCS

Clinical Manager Respiratory Care
Meritus Medical Center
Term Expires 12/2021


Simon Haile, BA-ACCS-RRT

Manager Respiratory and Neurodiagnostic Services
Anne Arundel Medical Center
Term Expires 12/2022


Lenny Nyangwara, MSM, RRT
Director- Pulmonary & Neurodiagnostics
Anne Arundel Medical Center
Office 443-481-4074
term expires 12/2024

Jeanette Leftwich, BS, RRT
Director Cardiopulmonary Services
BridgePoint Hospital Capitol Hill
(202) 546-5700 ext: 2765
Term Expires 12/2022



Jennifer McGrain, BS, RRT
Coordinator, Patient Advocacy
Breath Therapeutics
Term Expires 12/2021



Eastern Chapter Representative
Jessica Rickards, M.Ed., RRT, NPS, ACCS
Faculty- Delaware Technical Community College
Respiratory Care Technology
21179 College Drive
Georgetown, DE 19947
phone. 302-259-6685
Term Expires 12/2021


Central/Western Chapter Representative

Rebecca Sonn, BS, RRT-NPS, ACCS, RPFT
Clinical Coordinator and Assistant Professor
Frederick Community College
7932 Opossumtown Pike
Frederick, MD 21702
Ph: 301-846-2516
Term Expires: 12/2022


City Chapter Representative
Ebony Johnson, BS, RRT
Education Supervisor for Respiratory Care Services
University of Maryland Medical Center- Midtown Campus
877 Linden Avenue
Baltimore, Md. 21201
Term Expires 12/2021


Capitol/Southern Chapter Representative
Kimberly Smith, BS, RRT, NPS
Johns Hopkins Hospital
1800 Orleans St
Baltimore,Maryland 21287
Term expires 12/2021


Northern Chapter Representative

Virgina Forster, MS, RRT

Term Expires: 12/2022


Medical Advisor

Leslie Kingslow, M.D.

Board Operations

2020 Committees

Chair- Virginia Forster

Michelle Gianotti-Gredlein BS, RRT

Legislative Action MD/DC
Tom Striplin
Lenny Nyangwara
Ed Palmer

Chair- Charles Martin
All Chapter Representatives

Chair- Ed Palmer
All Chapter Representatives

Chair –Ed Palmer

Public Relations
Chair_Jen McGrain

Conference by the Sea
Co Chair- Joe Lynott
Co Chair-Tom Striplin

DC Metro Directors
(MDDC Managers List Serve)

MD Directors
Inactive ( MDDC Managers List Serve)

PACT Committee
Carolyn Williams- Chair
Kim Smith Co-Chair

2020 Board Meetings Dates

April 16, 2020
Anne Arundel Medical Center

Board Documents

MDDC Bylaws

Back to Top of Page